My First Turkey


Looks good doesn’t it? Well it was. But how did I get there!? A catastrophe! Not really, just a little bit of unknowledge from me. For starters there wasn’t a weight on the bird! So what did I do?

Yep you see right! I put that sucker on the scale! Eleven point two pounds. What is that really in a turkey? Good or bad? I don’t really know. I am at this point feeling stupid for putting a raw bird on my bathroom scale. And I feel even more stupid that I have never made a turkey, EVER, and I should have, by now made one. I was hoping to start a tradition on Thanksgiving. So I figured I might as well make a turkey for practice. Well let me tell you…it was DELICIOUS!

After weighing the bird, I proceeded to open the netting. Snip snip…and there it was, a thing looking back at me. Now what did my mother tell me to do? Pull the neck out. Done, Don’t forget the guts. They are up farther. OK! Where? I looked and looked. I dug a wooden spoon, I poured water into the cavity and shook the bird upside down. I still didn’t see it. It must not be there. Ok.

Next, I cut up my celery, carrots, onions, and apples. I poured my water in the bottom of the roaster. Threw the veges in and then placed the turkey in after it. And proceeded to put it in the oven. Thats it. Really. Until about 20 minutes when I realized I didn’t stuff the bird. So with a sigh and a huff, I pulled it back out, stuffed the veges in the cavity and slit the top of the bird and stuffed them with apples. Drizzled honey over it with a little bit of olive oil. And believe it or not. It was great.

So lets recap…I about gagged cleaning it. Forgot to stuff it…And I think i left something inside..not sure…my conclusion…No new traditions…Im going to moms for Thanksgiving!

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Savannah Lately

Young, Stressed Out, and Anxious: analyzing anxiety of a twenty something

This Woman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

just another day in paradise

just what happens to be rolling around in my head

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Big Mike's World

The Thoughts & Opinions of One Man

Dishonest Cooking

And I love cooking. Honestly

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

EatReal.LiveWell.

A Nutrition & Fitness Blog from a student RD to be who's lost more than 100lbs and kept it off...