Raspberry Cupcakes with Champagne Buttercream Frosting


DSC06035Today we all rang in the new year. And one of my top 10 resolutions is to post more on Pudgie Pies. I also hope to include this new year with a whole new look to my blog. Something that shows a little bit more of me to it. Our new home is nearly done and we hope to be moved in soon. Took a break during the holiday season. I am so proud of my cookie selection I have choose to bake this year. Everything looked just perfect.

I choose to close out 2012 by baking a batch of Raspberry Cupcakes. Not to ring out with but to celebrate new comings. Today…Dinner with the parents! I was very excited for everyone to taste these beautiful treats. I saw these cupcakes on “Pinterest” And they intrigued me because they have Champagne in them. I however aren’t much of a drinker but when I think of Champagne I think of fancy weddings. With fancy weddings comes elegance, something right out of “Gossip Girl”. (My newest entertainment lately. Catching up on the past seven years of drama, gossip, and the wants of high society.)

I found this recipe and tweaked it quite a bit. I’m a little scared how they might turn out! I changed everything drastically. The reviews for the recipe were thumbs up. The flavor good, but the consistency more of a dense muffin. So I tried to make the batter richer in flavor. Hope it worked. They are in the oven now and smell devine! Now here’s the thing. The recipe calls for Raspberry extract. I live in the boondocks. I searched all day in my area for raspberry extract. And wouldn’t you know…None! So Pudgie had to improvise.

DSC06036

Ingredients

2 1/3 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
3/4 Teaspoon Fine Salt
1 1/4 Superfine Sugar
1/4 Cup Canola Oil
3 Eggs
1 Cup Whole Milk
1/2 Heavy Cream
2 1/2 Teaspoon Raspberry Juice
2 Tablespoons puree Fresh Raspberries
Champagne Buttercream Frosting, Recipe Follows

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a regular size cupcake pan with 12 cupcake liners

Using a food processor, puree the raspberries. Separate the 2 Tablespoons from the puree, into a separate bowl. Then using cheesecloth or *like me a cheap cloth baby diaper, put the remaining raspberry into the cloth and squeeze out the juice into a bowl.

Sift together the flour, backing powder, salt, and sugar into a large bowl. Stir with a spatula, lightly, to mix ingredients together. Slowly add the oil to the mixture until fine crumbs are formed. Add the eggs, milk, raspberry juice and puree raspberries and mix on low-speed for about 3 minutes, using which ever mixing device you choose.

Fill the cupcake liners three-quarters full with the batter. Bake in oven for aprox 30 minutes. Cool cupcakes completely after baking.

Fill a pastry bag or *like me, a ziplock with an icing tip, with the Champagne Buttercream Frosting. Using which ever design you choose top the cupcakes with the icing, and serve.

Champagne Buttercream Frosting 

4 Sticks Unsalted Butter, (1 Pound) Room Temperature
5 Cups Powdered Sugar
4 Tablespoons Champagne (I used a lot more than that)
5 Teaspoons Raspberry Juice From Puree

In a large bowl, whip the butter until creamed. Add the powdered sugar and champagne and mix until the ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Then add the raspberry juice for color and flavor.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lisa on January 2, 2013 - 3:12 pm

    So……how did they turn out?

    • #2 by Pudgie Pies on January 2, 2013 - 5:07 pm

      They were delish! 🙂 I am proud to have drifted out of my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

Savannah Lately

Young, Stressed Out, and Anxious: analyzing anxiety of a twenty something

This Woman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

just another day in paradise

just what happens to be rolling around in my head

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Big Mike's World

The Thoughts & Opinions of One Man

Dishonest Cooking

And I love cooking. Honestly

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

