April 2013 Reveal


This is my first month for the “Foodie PenPal” project. It all started with one random idea from a girl named Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean. When I was a little girl I wrote all the time. I kept up with several pen pals at a time. One from Germany, California, and Ohio. I loved it.

One day while surfing Pinterest I stumbled upon a blog that participated in Lindsay’s project. So I thought I would sign up. I did so just in time too. For it was the 4th of the month and I had till the 5th to do so. I am very happy I did.

When Lindsay contacted me to tell me she received my application I thought she was emailing to tell me the name of my foodie pal. I got all excited and practically jumped up and down. I received that information the next day.

I sent my box of goodies to New Hampshire. While I was receiving my goodie box from Leah of Minnesota. Leah has a blog of her own called “MacKenzie Memories”.

Well I received my box today. I could barely hold my silence! So exciting for me. I get excited at the smallest things it seems. This is what Leah sent me.

DSC_0154

DSC_01591. Cranberry Walnut Granola

Apparently having healthy food in my house forces me to eat it. Because I tried this on my yogurt as Leah suggested. Loved it. And ate it everyday of the this week so far. Skipping my standard cereal. She also suggested to use it in pancakes. Must try that later.

 

 

 

DSC_01582. Barsy’s Sweet Almonds

I was a little sceptical to try these because I don’t like hot foods. The package says, Barsy’s Almonds Sweeties, A sweet treat with a hint of chai spices. I have never had chai foods. When I read it I instantly thought spicy. But I stood corrected when my Grandma popped some in her mouth. They were absolutely divine. I Loved them. A perfect simple treat!

 

 

DSC_01623. B.T. McElrath Chocolatier, Prairie Dog Chocolate Bar

Chocolate…Enough said!

 

 

 

DSC_01604. Frontier Jalapeno Jerky Rub

I’m not sure what I am going to do with this. I think I might save it for deer jerky. I guess I’ll have to break out the de-humidifier.

 

 

 

DSC_01635. Justin’s Chocolate and Classic Almond Butter

This stuff is to die for. I have never had it before Leah sent it to me. She suggested putting it on crackers or on toast. However while I was looking at the reveal page on Lindsay’s site I noticed a lot of people sent Justin’s Butter in their foodie boxes.

 

DSC_01566. Chocolate, Peanut Putter and Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These definitely didn’t last long! They were very good. Especially the peanut butter one. My weakness. These were purchased from “3 Tiers Bakery Bistro” in Minneapolis, MN. Their website is www.3tierscakes.com

FPP-post

Interested? Here are the Guidelines

-On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Savannah Lately

Young, Stressed Out, and Anxious: analyzing anxiety of a twenty something

This Woman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

just another day in paradise

just what happens to be rolling around in my head

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Big Mike's World

The Thoughts & Opinions of One Man

Dishonest Cooking

And I love cooking. Honestly

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

