Brownie Thins – FAIL


I hope you weren’t coming here to find a recipe for brownie thins. I couldn’t give you one if you wanted one!

A friend of mine posted on Facebook that she was hosting a bake sale at her church during a weekend flea market. Well you all know how Pudgie likes a challenge. (Haven’t completed one yet with success). But I will. I called her up and volunteered my time and baked goods.

But…

They didn’t turn out!

I have had a recipe for brownie thins in my Pudgie Pie file for over a year now. I have made them using a completely different recipe for Valentines Day. They turned out great. (I should really post that one. They were so pretty.) But I couldn’t find it. Of course.

So I used the one buried in the depths of my mess.

I should have known!!! I can’t say that enough…I should have KNOWN! When a recipe calls for a few Tablespoons of flour they are going to turn out to be LACE COOKIES!!!!!

I should have known!

Instead, I sit here at 11:44pm with this concoction in the oven, hoping to pull out an edible cookie. DSC06421

Here is the recipe: (copy/pasted directly from the site. (site address below)) Scroll down for my take on it.

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • Pinch of course kosher salt
  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1/4 cup chopped pistachios
  • Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Brownie-Thins-240760#ixzz2UvthquCT

Directions:

Position rack in lowest third of oven; preheat to 350°F. Butter 2 baking sheets. Place butter and chocolate in medium microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on medium-high power until almost completely melted, about 1 minute. Whisk until smooth. Add sugar and egg; whisk until smooth, about 1 minute. Add flour, both extracts, and salt; stir just to blend. Let batter stand 10 minutes.

Scoop rounded teaspoonfuls batter onto prepared baking sheets, spacing apart (12 per sheet). Spray sheet of plastic wrap lightly with nonstick spray. Place, sprayed side down, over cookies. Using fingers, press each mound into 21/2- to 2 3/4-inch round. Remove plastic wrap. Sprinkle pistachios over rounds. Bake cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until slightly darker at edges and firm in center, about 7 minutes. Cool on sheet 2 minutes. Transfer cookies to rack; cool completely. DO AHEAD: Can be made 5 days ahead. Store airtight at room temperature.

Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Brownie-Thins-240760#ixzz2Uvtpq4H3

So Because I didn’t have unsalted butter I used salted. Big mistake! I failed to omit the pinch of salt. Now my pile of brownie thins make you want some water.

As I followed the directions word for word I soon realize the consistency was really runny. That didn’t seem normal. I didn’t think these would be lace cookies. It didn’t say in the guidelines. So I added more flower. I wanted the consistency to be that of dough. So I could press them like I did my last ones.

If I ever find that recipe I will share. They were worth it!

So to finalize. The thins aren’t that bad. They are edible.

Lesson Learned…

If there isn’t a lot of flour. They probably are lace cookies!

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Savannah Lately

Young, Stressed Out, and Anxious: analyzing anxiety of a twenty something

This Woman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

just another day in paradise

just what happens to be rolling around in my head

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Big Mike's World

The Thoughts & Opinions of One Man

Dishonest Cooking

And I love cooking. Honestly

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

