Apple Caramel Cupcakes


While my mother and I cut, peeled, and smashed apples all day for applesauce, I decided to make this treat for some snacking. I called them cupcakes. But really the texture of the cake is more like a muffin. A pretty muffin! I am in love with these sweet little pieces of goodness. They taste good without the icing if you want to make them for a breakfast treat. But that icing is superb. Hope you enjoy!

DSC0700699

Ingredients

1 Cup Vegetable Oil
2 Cups White Sugar
3 Eggs
3 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract (Oops Of Course)
3 Cups Peeled and Chopped Apples
1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine oil, sugar and eggs.

Sift the flour and baking soda.

Then add vanilla and apples.

Mix well.

Simple as that.

Frosting

1/2 Cup Butter
1 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
1/4 Cup Evaporated Milk
1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla

Boil all ingredients in a small sauce pan for approximately 2 minutes.

Once boiled, set the pan in a bowl of cold water.

Beat the icing until its a spreading consistency.

I mean whip that icing. I whipped till my arm hurt.

After your cupcakes have cooled. Spread the icing evenly over the tops.

The icing will thicken to a fudgy consistency.  Try to get it one the tops before that happens.

I was using my fingers by the time I got finished.

Garnish as you please.

DSC0702177

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Savannah Lately

Young, Stressed Out, and Anxious: analyzing anxiety of a twenty something

This Woman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

just another day in paradise

just what happens to be rolling around in my head

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Big Mike's World

The Thoughts & Opinions of One Man

Dishonest Cooking

And I love cooking. Honestly

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

