Super Easy Applesauce


APPLES, APPLES, EVERYWHERE!

My parents have a single apple tree in their yard. Year after year the apples just never made it. They never got good enough to eat. Well this year the tree was full of red yummy apples.

One day my dad had this bright idea to pick these apples. Well let me tell you, I was the one picking the apples. He held the ladder.

But after all that, we managed to get four large crates full of juicy apples.

DSC07054777

Unfortunately I never measured the amount of apples or cinnamon that was used. We did everything in bulk and taste tested it. But I thought I would still post the result because it just taste so good.

We peeled all the apples by hand. dumbest move we have ever decided to do. Out hands were cramping, our feet hurt, our backs hurt. I really need to invest in an automatic apple machine.

DSC0700411

We cut the apples into medium size pieces and filled the stock pot. Adding about 1/2 cup water. Cook the apples at medium heat siring every so often.

Once the apples soften mash them with a potato masher. I prefer a thicker sauce with heavy chunks. If you use an automatic apple peeler machine, the pulp will me much thinner. Almost that of which you buy in a store.

DSC0700555Add the cinnamon. Use as much as your choose. Taste it. Its hard to mess it up. See how chunky it is? So Yummy! You can add sugar to sweeten it up. I didn’t add a whole lot. Less then a half a cup. But I have read recipes that add two cups. So its up to you.

Once you have the sauce to your liking. Let it cool then scoop into containers. I froze mine. Maybe next year I will can it. But I didn’t have the time.

We took our peelings to the donkeys. They really enjoyed the treat!

donkeys and apples

Ingredients

Apples
Sugar
Cinnamon
1/2 Water

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Savannah Lately

Young, Stressed Out, and Anxious: analyzing anxiety of a twenty something

This Woman's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

just another day in paradise

just what happens to be rolling around in my head

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Big Mike's World

The Thoughts & Opinions of One Man

Dishonest Cooking

And I love cooking. Honestly

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

